Top Gear

“This year,” said Liam “I’d like a Top Gear themed cake please.”

“Oh? But you had cars last year. Don’t you want something different?”

“I’d like it to have the people on it. Jeremy Clarkson, Hammond…”

This was going to be a challenge.

**********************

Where to start? I’ve never really made human figures before, certainly nothing which had to be identifiable as a real person but I soon realised that the Top Gear crew were quite identifiable as a group. You’ve got a tall bloke in jeans, another tall bloke in jeans but with long hair and a flowery shirt, a much shorter bloke in jeans and a person in white overalls and helmet with his arms folded. I set to work.

I started with Jeremy and created a fairly nondescript person. Blue legs. Check. White shirt. Check. Grey hair. Check. This was the standard by which all the others were created. James May initially looked remarkably¬†similar until I added some longer hair. Richard Hammond was pretty much identical but comically short. The Stig was all in white. I painted on some further distinguishing detail (and I admit James’ flowery shirt looked much more like leopard print by the time I’d finished) and I was actually pretty happy with them.

image

Now, it wouldn’t be much of a Top Gear cake without a car so it had to be Liam’s favourite car in his favourite colour, an orange Lamborghini Murcielago. Luckily it’s a very distinctive body shape and after version 1 was abandoned for reasons of scale (Richard Hammond wouldn’t even have fitted inside) version 2 was successful. I used black food colouring and silver edible glitter to add the relevant details.

The cake itself was covered in green and grey fondant to become the test track, with detail added with white writing icing and the final touch was Liam’s name and age added to a number plate made from yellow icing.

image

 

Leave a Reply

